• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Disclosing G HSV1 in College

Hi all, I'm currently a sophomore in college and have genital HSV 1. I was diagnosed about three months ago after losing my virginity. I have had sexual intercourse once, but I have had two guys perform oral sex on me, which I am assuming is the way in which I caught herpes. I attend a large university where relationships are not common. My school is fairly selective and as a result, students are extremely focused on future careers rather than dating. Because of this, the hook up culture is disgustingly prominent. I am currently seeing a guy who I have been friends with for over a year; however, we are not official. I know that I am not herpes and that I have a lot more positive qualities that are just as important in a relationship as sex, but I'm terrified that college boys are too immature to handle this and I will be rejected immediately. I know there is not an exact way or time to disclose a herpes diagnosis to someone, but I was wondering if anyone had advice on how to disclose my diagnosis for now and in the future? Thank you so much!

Hello, I'm a 32yo female also with HSV1. I was diagnosed when I was 22 and like you, I suspect I contracted it the same way.