• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

The possible legal ramifications of not disclosing herpes

Thanks for sharing! This is good to know. AND I want to underline that what I want to really focus on in our community is that we are disclosing not out of fear of possible legal ramifications, but out of genuine care for another human being, out of honoring integrity and vulnerability.

This content is for informational purposes only. This information does not constitute medical advice or diagnosis. I'm not a medical professional, so please take this as friendly peer support. 

Helpful resources:

Wow, I was wondering about things like that. I wanted to sue the person that gave it to me. What is ironic is that the person that gave it to me was from Portland, Oregon and when I opened the link and saw Portland, Oregon, it was crazy. Unfortunately the person that gave it to me changed their number and was no where to be found. Sucks but that is life.

That's an excellent point, Adrial! It may actually be problematic that this woman was granted such a large settlement in "pain and suffering" because it further reinforces the stigma that herpes is a life-ruining disease, rather than an annoying skin condition that happens to affect the genitals. I think we should definitely talk about it with partners in the interest of informed consent. However, despite the appeal of retribution in the form of legal recourse, I think this line of thinking is ultimately going to hurt those with herpes, not help.

~Ash

• 8 months later...