• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Questions on blood work results and next steps...

Hi everyone,

Thank you all for your contributions here. I can’t describe how helpful it has been to read many of these posts to get a better understanding of H.

A quick background on my situation. Low 30s male and I’ve been hooking up with this girl for the last 3-4 months who had disclosed to me before we ever got intimate that she has HSV-2 and had likely been infected at least a few years ago. She has never had any visible outbreaks or symptoms (so assuming it’s genital) and is taking Valtrex daily. I enjoy being with her and so figured that it was worth the risk based on everything I’ve read (suppressant + condom + no sex during any outbreak reduces the risk meaningfully even if not 0). I had gotten tested earlier this summer, came out IGG negative and we've had sex a total of 4-5 times.

About 2 weeks ago, I noticed a pimple and a little redness on my penis and wanted to get confirmation. Early last week, I got blood work (should have gotten a swab which was stupid of me) and received the result on Friday that I was 1.6 IGG HSV2. Just in time for me to freak out all weekend. Outside of the pimpled, I’ve had 0 symptoms.