• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

I want to shout to the world that I have herpes

I have had HSV2 since April of 2015 at 20 years old after that, I started practicing abstinence and stopped dating. I began my relationship with God and started to accept my consequence. For awhile.. I thought my dating life was over.. I began to become okay with being alone the rest of my life. I told no one...not my parents or my close friends. I suffered silently..just trying to be able to love myself again. The only out break I ever had was my first one that sent me to the doctors..I struggled long and hard with having herpes. I started dating again recently .. told the guy and he accepted it..but only on a friendship level. I don't want to do a disclose talk every time .. I just want to scream to the world that I have herpes ..that I'm still a great person, beautiful and ambitious. I finally love myself again and I fear the disclosure talk will hurt my confidence each time

Xoxo

Hi, Thomas. If you haven't read any of the success stories yet, I think they will give you hope! Mostly, I wanted to say I admire you for having the courage to get back out there, even if it means a few rejections. The rejection part sucks, of course, but I like to think (hope) that you'll actually get *more* confident with each disclosure.

I read this joke about rejection last year and it has become one of my favorites: