• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

How common is hsv, really?

Everyone says how common this is, I can say I don't personally know of anyone with it (probably because it's not something people just regularly tell others). I really wish I knew just one person who has it. It came to my realization after thinking about this (because that's all I tend to do lately--think about this)... and I have been a nurse for 5 years now and I recall seeing hsv in a patients medical history maybe one time... is this not normally listed in a patients chart? I feel like an outcast even tho everyone says it's so common and it's all around me.

I wondered the same. In all my life, I've only semi-known one person with it. To be honest, I really didn't know them; I just heard that she had it through the grapevine. I too constantly think about it & feel like an outcast, but then I realize that it doesn't make me feel any better. Afterwards, I give myself a pep talk & try to move on. FYI: it's probably not in most charts bc ppl are embarrassed to list it.