• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Feeling very alone recently...

Hey. Visited this site in the past, but just joined today. I'm a professional guy, early 50s, gay — pretty discreet about it — and never acted on my sexuality until about 5 years ago. Met someone I wanted to date last summer, so to be responsible, I got a full STD panel — never slept around much and was convinced I was "clean." I was devastated to learn I'm HSV2+ — and my potential relationship disappeared. Hit me hard. I did have a nasty oral infection about 4 years ago — which I now realize was my first and only outbreak — but no one at the time said, "This is HSV2, which is generally known as genital herpes." I suppose I was very naive. I had a root canal at the same time, and I attributed the infection to that. My immune system is compromised by a different, nonsexual condition — so I understand how I contracted herpes — but I was still shocked by the news.