• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Living with herpes

I found out I had herpes about two years ago. I was with my boyfriend at the time that i was diagnosed with it. We broke up almost a year ago, and it was an abusive situation so I have been single since. I have started talking to a new man, and things are progressing.

I have not told any man that I have herpes, since my last boyfriend, because I haven't had to. I find that there is so much stigma attached to STI's, that I am very scared to tell him. Even though I have been living with this for two years, I am still very new to this. I have been trying to come to grips with the fact that I have it myself. I had it very bad for the first year, where I would have an outbreak last for a month, go away for a couple of days and then return for another month. I didn't have too many non-outbreak days in the first year.I find that now it is getting better with the time in between outbreaks, but they still last two to three weeks. But I do get a break in between for a couple months, which is great now.

I live in Ontario, and valtrax is not covered for me. I have tried other medications, but they only made me sick. But it would be great to take valtrax everyday to help with the severity of my outbreaks. But the medication from month to month is very expensive, and being a single mother, I cannot afford the extra expense.