• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

I guess I'm a veteran

Hello everyone!

I'm glad I found the website! I'm probably what you would classify as a veteran. I had my first (genital) outbreak a little over 15 years ago, and I still have issues dealing with it. I'm hoping that joining this forum will help me get over them.

I'll start with the admission that HSV was not my first STD. HPV was. Scared me into regular STD testing and I thought I was good to go.

My husband has HSV1. I didn't know this until about 6 months into our relationship, when I noticed he was getting cold sores. He admitted he had problems with them since he was a child. A few months later I knew something wasn't right with me- I was doubled over in pain and the lymph nodes in my groin were so swollen. I visit to the doctor confirmed my suspicions of herpes. I was shocked when they said that regardless of his having HSV1 I could have had herpes all along. (Because as many of you know, they don't test for that)

So, here I am. I have no idea if I have HSV1 or 2. I have so many questions about it. Although I've had the virus for so long, I haven't ever discussed it with anyone other than telling my mom after I was diagnosed- and she told my entire family-so that they could clean their toilet seats after I visited ya know?

I've been reading your posts for weeks and finally got the courage to join. It's such a relief to read your stories. Even though you know there are others out there that have it, it's still nice to have a confirmation that you're not alone.

@MMissouri

Hello and Welcome!