• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Extreme Fear and Remorse - Could I have passed herpes to my kids?

Hi All, I'm a newbie, just joined today and am desperately in need of support from others. I married late and had many sexual partners over the years. About 8 years ago, I had about 4 'pimple-like' lesions pop up in my groin area which I promptly went both to a primary care physician and dermatologist to get checked out (wanted a second opinion). The Primary Care doc diagnosed as folliculitis, the dermatologist did not know but took a swab test to check for HSVII. Those tests came back negative. So, i thought, 'Ok, its a bacterial infection' and thought little else until the same thing happened about a month later. I went back to both docs, same thing, and again a swab test came back negative. I had same outbreaks occur for about 8-9 months but then became less frequent going down to once a year. After one bad outbreak, I went same day the lesions popped up, this time, the dermatologist got more sample and the tests came back positive for HSVII. That was about 4-5 negative tests before a positive one, talk about 'false negatives.' The dermatologist explained that those tests required alot of sample/virus to be able to detect and probably just not getting enough or not early enough when the shedding was peak.