• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Just diagnosed with herpes: boyfriend dumped me.

Well. THIS is fun.

First of all I would like to start off by saying that I consider myself a fairly strong, positive person. I do comedy for a living, so I try to see the humor in every situation and laugh it off. I'm having a hard time doing that.

I was diagnosed with oral and genital H a little over a week ago. My first OB was horrible - I was in so much pain I could barely walk, my mouth hurt like hell, and I had flu symptoms. I basically had every symptom you can have. I was a mess, too - I was crying a lot and anticipating what testing positive for H would do to change my life. The doctors visits were awful, too, because they made me wait so long for my results. The first doctor I went to told me I tested negative, which I was certain was not true, so I got a second opinion, and sure enough, I had it.

On top of it all, I'd been dating someone who I'd been sleeping with for a couple of months, and things were just starting to get serious. I told him I had H, and he stopped talking to me. When I confronted him about it, he told me he just didn't feel the same, and that he couldn't imagine being intimate with me anymore. The doctor said it's likely that I got it from him since I hadn't been sleeping with anyone for a while before him, and that if he didn't have it before, he probably has it now. I told him all this, but he doesn't seem to believe me.